Groups in Galway 2019

10–11 May 2019

conference photo

The conference Groups in Galway 2019 took place at the National University of Ireland, Galway from 10–11 May 2019.

Groups in Galway has been running on an annual basis since 1978. The scope of the conference covers all aspects of group theory, including applications, as well as related fields. Everybody was invited to attend.

Groups in Galway 2019 was generously supported by:


Please also see the full list of abstracts.


Friday, 10 May
09.45 – 10.00 Opening
10.00 – 10.45 Angela Carnevale Partial equality and word problems
10.45 – 11.15 Coffee/tea
11.15 – 12.00 Yiftach Barnea Survey of New Developments in Subgroup Growth
12.15 – 13.00 Marta Morigi On Groups with Restricted Centralizers of w-Values
13.00 Conference photo Photographer: Qays Shakir
13.15 – 14.30 Lunch
14.30 – 15.15 H. Dugald Macpherson Jordan permutation groups: examples, classifications, and applications
15.30 – 16.15 Christopher Voll Normal subgroup growth of free nilpotent groups under base extension — wild or uniform?
16.15 – 16.45 Coffee/tea
16.45 – 17.30 Kevin Hutchinson Galois Theory and the cyclic quantum dilogarithm
17.30 – 18.30 Poster session and reception
18.30 Poster prize Winner: Mima Stanojkovski
20.00 Dinner at Il Vicolo(The Bridgemills, O'Brien's Bridge, Galway city)
Saturday, 11 May
10.00 – 10.45 James D. Mitchell Uniqueness and non-uniqueness of Polish semigroup topologies
10.45 – 11.15 Coffee/tea
11.15 – 12.00 Scott Harper Spread and Uniform Domination
12.15 – 13.00 Oihana Garaialde Ocaña Pro-p groups of positive rank gradient and Hausdorff dimension

Poster session

A poster session took take place on Friday afternoon. All participants of the conference were invited to present posters. A prize, sponsered by Science Foundation Ireland, was awarded to the top ranked poster. The winner was Mima Stanojkovski from Bielefeld.

Recent instalments of Groups in Galway

The organisers of Groups in Galway 2019 were Graham Ellis and Tobias Rossmann.

last modified: 17 May 2019